The Virginia Beach School Board received information about proposed federal grant applications at its May 9 meeting. For the 2023-24 school year, Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) would receive approximately $16.3 million in formula grant funds through programs authorized under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015 (ESSA).
The classroom driver education course is offered as part of the Health and Physical Education II curriculum in all high schools. A student must complete driver education to participate in Behind-the-Wheel instruction and receive a driver’s license. Below are the steps necessary for families.
- Students must pass the classroom phase of driver education and receive the DEC-1 card.
- When the student reaches the age of 15 years and 6 months, they can go to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and take the learner's permit test. Learner’s Permit Testing is also offered at some high schools after school hours. Contact the school to inquire.
- When the student has both the DEC-1 card and learner's permit, they may apply and pay for Behind-the-Wheel instruction via the VBCPS WebStore here. The fee for Behind-the-Wheel is $210. Specific dates and times are NOT guaranteed. Be sure to review the registration page fully before paying.
- After the fee has been paid, the parent or guardian will receive an email within 2 business days at the email address listed on the registration. This email will include the link to a form that must be completed in order to schedule the student’s Behind-the-Wheel session.
Below are some frequently asked questions regarding teen licensing. If you need additional information on the Driver Education program contact Denise O'Connell, Lead Driver Education Teacher by email or phone at (757) 263-1410.